Travel Hack: Turn 22 Vacation Days Into 56 Days Off In 2022

2.42min read
Published 29 October 2021
Flight Centre Author

ByEmese Graham

Content Manager

Share

Mark your calendars! With a little planning around public holidays and long weekends, you can more than double your paid time off in 2022.

Here’s how to maximize your vacation time for extra beach daysCanadian getaways, and city escapes.

Book 3 days leave for 10 days off

Woman in red swimsuit jumping happily on a grey beach

Since both Christmas Day and Boxing Day fall on the weekend this year, most people are entitled to take the Monday and Tuesday off. That means you can enjoy a full ten days of bliss in a sunny destination, fly out and visit the cousins, or ring in the new year somewhere special (without having to rush there and back) just by booking off three key days. With the kids off from school, this is one of your best opportunities to book some family quality time.

Holiday from:

  • Saturday December 25 – Monday January 3

Book off these dates:

  • Wednesday December 29
  • Thursday December 30
  • Friday December 31

Book 1 day leave for 4 days off

If you live and work in Ontario, BC, Alberta, New Brunswick, or Saskatchewan, you can enjoy a mini-cation right when winter is at its most bitter. Tack on a Friday to the Family Day long weekend and book a cheap flight to FloridaLos AngelesPhoenix, or Vegas for some much-needed heat.

Holiday from:

  • Friday February 18 – Monday February 21

Book off these dates:

  • Friday February 18

Book 4 days leave for 9 days off

Woman with sunglasses and yellow bikini top smiles on a beach with bright hotel buildings in the background

Hey, couples! Skip the madness of March break and get ahead of the college kids’ post-exam trips with an extended Easter escape. A late spring trip to the Caribbean offers shoulder season prices, fewer crowds, and every-so slightly cooler weather (and by that we mean 26-30 degrees instead of 30+). Plus, with hurricane season not starting for another few months, it’s really one of the best times to go.

Holiday from:

  • Saturday April 9 – Sunday April 17

Book off these dates:

  • Monday April 11
  • Tuesday April 12
  • Wednesday April 13
  • Thursday April 14

Book 4 days leave for 9 days off

Woman in camper van parked at the beach, looking at her laptop

Spring has officially sprung, and warmer days are straight ahead. Now’s your chance to get a jump on Canadian favourites before the season kicks into full gear. An extended Victoria Day getaway is the perfect time to catch a flight to VancouverTorontoCalgary, or Quebec City and explore the True North however you please.

Holiday from

  • Saturday May 21- Sunday May 29

Book off these dates:

  • Tuesday May 24
  • Wednesday May 25
  • Thursday May 26
  • Friday May 27

Book 8 days leave for 16 days off

Two women happily walking and splashing through the surf on a bright beach

It’s the best time of year for family holidays. Trade those pencils for passports over the Canada Day weekend! If you’ve been saving up your vacation time for something extra special, this is it. Treat yourselves to a two-week getaway in ItalyFrance, or Greece (with a rest day on either side so you can come back to work feeling refreshed).

Holiday from:

  • Saturday June 25- Sunday July 10

Book off these dates:

  • Monday June 27
  • Tuesday June 28
  • Wednesday June 29
  • Thursday June 30
  • Monday July 4
  • Tuesday July 5
  • Wednesday July 6
  • Thursday July 7
  • Friday July 8

Book 1 day leave for 4 days off

A quick break from the routine is often all you need. Take care of that travel craving with an extended labour day weekend to close out the summer. It’s the perfect time for one more golfing trip, one more yoga retreat, one more foodie extravaganza, one more hiking spree. With any luck, you can catch a back-to-school flight deal and save on cash and paid time off.

Holiday from:

  • Friday September 2 – Monday September 5

Book off this date:

  • Friday September 2

Book 1 day leave for 4 days off

Woman reclining in a chair typing on a blank laptop, with tall jagged islands in the background

There’s something about the Thanksgiving weekend that makes it feel just a little bit too short. It could be the turkey talking, but we think you might as well stretch things out with an extra day or two. Especially since it’ll be a while before the next public holiday in December! Use the opportunity to book a visit with the side of the family you don’t usually get to see, a fun night in a Canadian capital, or some local tours that you’ve always had your eye on.

Holiday from:

  • Friday October 7th – Monday October 10th

Book off these dates:

  • Friday October 7th

Now that you know the best dates, find the best price! Check out our handy vacation calendar or talk to our Travel Experts today to tailor-make your trip from start to finish.

Flight Centre Author

ByEmese Graham

Content Manager

Share

Newsletter

Be in to win a $500 travel gift card*

Sign up to our Club Red newsletter to get exclusive deals, travel inspiration and more!

Flight Centre

© Flight Centre Travel Group (Canada) Inc.*Conditions apply. Prices are in CAD. All advertised prices include taxes & fees. Air travel in economy class unless otherwise stated. Package, cruise, tour, rail & hotel prices are per person, based on double occupancy for total length of stay unless otherwise stated. All-inclusive vacations include airfare on a per person basis. Prices are for select departure dates and are accurate and subject to availability at advertising deadline, errors and omissions excepted, and subject to change. Taxes & fees due in destination are additional and include, but not limited to, local car rental charges & taxes, one-way rental drop fees which are to be paid upon arrival, resort fees & charges, and airline baggage fees. Additional important conditions and supplier terms may apply. For full terms and conditions visit please speak with a Flight Centre Travel Consultant. CPBC#2790, TICO#4671384, OPC#702971.

Future Travel Credit Terms & Conditions | Green Policy | Anti-Spam Policy